Posted by: nancyisanders | August 1, 2016

Oldie But Goodie: Why Are You A Writer?

Here’s an oldie but goodie I posted on my blog several years ago. I hope you find it helpful!

Why are you a writer? Is it to change your world? I know that’s one of the reasons I write. I yearn to make a difference in this world…and I truly believe I am.

I’ll never forget the librarian who told me recently that she wanted to create a display at her school for Black History Month–but all the books she found were so sad she felt overwhelmed with the thought. Until she discovered my book, D is for Drinking Gourd: An African American Alphabet. She said the illustrations and information on each page were so inspiring that it gave her the motivation to decorate the library to likewise inspire students to follow in the footsteps of the many African Americans who dared to stand up and make a difference in their world.

Through the easy readers I’ve written over the years, I know I’m helping give the gift of literacy to children. And if I can help just one child learn to read–and love it!–then all the hard work, piles of rejections, and lonely hours of writing have been worth it.

I’ve written puzzles and crafts and poems for kids. How awesome it is to think that I’ve brought joy and fun and laughter into the lives of children. Truly, in this day and age when children have to grow up long before it’s time and deal with amazing levels of stress and disappointment, even the most simple puzzle or basic craft becomes a very precious jewel.

I want to change my world and make it a better place. That’s one of the reasons I write.

Why do you?

 


Check out my how-to-write book for writers, Yes! You Can Learn How to Write Beginning Readers and Chapter Books.


Leave a Reply

Categories

