Posted by: nancyisanders | August 3, 2016

Oldie But Goodie: Why Are You A Writer?

Here’s the second part I posted several years ago on this topic…Enjoy!

Why are you a writer? Is it because you can’t NOT write? I know I can’t stop writing. It’s one of my favorite things to do.

Sure, I like to quilt, crochet, play the piano, take walks, garden, and watch the birds. Plus do all sorts of fun things with my family when they come home at the end of a long day of work.

But when I sit down to relax and put my writing away for the day, what do I do? I write! Even if I start to read a good book, I soon put it down because a brand new idea pops into my head that I just want to get on paper.

Even if I plan to crochet in the evening while my husband’s grading papers (he’s a teacher) and I’m sitting in the chair next to him, without thinking, I’ll pick up my notebook that I keep next to my chair. Before I realize it, I’m writing a little poem for kids or jotting down ideas for a fun, new manuscript.

I even place a notepad on the ironing board while I iron. I always get such great ideas while I’m standing there!

I have a notepad in the car because when we’re driving somewhere something always pops into my head. I have a notepad in my purse for when I’m out shopping. I just love to write.

So I just gotta write! That’s one of the reasons I write, too.

How about you?


Leave a Reply

Categories

