Posted by: nancyisanders | September 16, 2016

Faith Building Fridays: Rise Up!

Rise up, my love, my fair one, and come away. For lo, the winter is past, the rain is over and gone, the flowers appear on the earth; the time of singing has come, and the voice of the turtledove is heard in our land.
-Song of Songs 2:10-12, NKJV

Much to our surprise, a pair of new birds arrived in our backyard one spring. We looked them up in our bird book, but the book didn’t have them. So we looked them up in a different bird book, and it said that Ringed Turtledoves from Asia have escaped from a pet store in Los Angeles and may be found nearby. We live in a suburb of LA!

It was such a joy to watch them! They built a nest and every day the male sat on the top of our chimney coo-cooing all day long while the female sat nearby in the nest.

The sound of the turtledove was heard all throughout our house as the beautiful and peaceful melody carried down our chimney like a microphone and was heard singing all throughout our house.

God is reminding us to rise up! The time of singing has come! The time to look ahead to a future as his scribe is here. He has new things planned for us, articles and stories and books He’s planned about since the beginning of creation.

Dear God, thank You for hope and newness of life. Please help me write with a new joy in my heart. In Jesus’ name. Amen.

_______________________________________________________________

Scribes: Devotions for Christian Writers is available at Amazon.


Responses

  1. That really touched me.

    Sent from my iPad

    >

    • Dear Sherri, I pray God will give you a new song of hope to sing as his scribe.

  2. Years ago, I had one of those birds appear on the ground near my feeder in southern NJ. I took a picture , and like you, had a terrible time of finding identification. This was in 1987. SInce then, I had an ID to the bird and when I opened your post and saw the picture, I knew exactly what they were.

    Thank you for sharing!

    • That is so interesting, Sheila! Thanks for sharing.


Leave a Reply

Categories

