Posted by: nancyisanders | October 10, 2016

Oldie But Goodie: New Purpose

Here’s an Oldie But Goodie that I hope helps you find a new purpose for some of those dusty manuscripts in your files. Enjoy!

Let’s admit it. Getting published in today’s market is tough. I know. For every one of the books I’ve had published, I probably have three complete manuscripts still in my file cabinet that have earned me enough rejection letters to wallpaper my entire house. That’s a lot of unpublished manuscripts!

Some of them are 20 years old. But none of those manuscripts are forgotten. Oh no! I have fun finding new purposes for my old manuscripts.

I post some of my old manuscripts for children’s books in their entirety on my website.

Other manuscripts I post section by section on various blogs I have.

Some manuscripts I’ve even self-published with Print On Demand publishers.

Sure, I’m constantly writing new material for deadlines and book contracts that will be published. But I also have fun with my other favorite manuscripts that never yet found a home. One by one, I’m finding a home for each of them and it’s been a very rewarding experience.

How about you? Do you have favorite manuscripts you’ve written that have never yet been published? Go ahead…have some fun! Post them on a blog and you’ll get people reading them all around the world. Self-publish them with a print-on-demand publisher and you can give them as gifts to family and friends.

Pull out those old manuscripts and find a brand new purpose for them. You’ll be glad you did!


Leave a Reply

Categories

