Posted by: nancyisanders | January 2, 2017

Happy Mew Year!

DSCN4427.jpg

Happy Mew Year!

Hi. My name is Sandman. I’m a cat. You probably already know that. But what you may not know is that I’m also a writer. Yup. I like to write nonfiction for kittens…I mean kids.

Just like you, I like to follow along with this blog. It’s the cat’s meow. But lately I’ve noticed my writing buddy, Nancy I. Sanders, has gone AWOL. I mean, where are all her blog posts?

I did some investigating and discovered she’s been all tied up working hard on a very intensive writing project. She’s got a book deadline May 1, 2017 and it’s taking up all her time.

So I figured I’d try to help her out. I mean, what’s a feline friend for if we can’t help out our buddies now and then? Especially our writing buddies.

First of all, I want to wish you all a Happy Mew Year!

My advice for a successful writing year in 2017? Here are 3 Terrific Tips:

Tip #1: Take lots of cat naps so your writing is always fresh. Me? I like to put myself to sleep plotting out the next scene or fact I’ll be writing about when I wake up.

Tip #2: Eat lots of tasty treats while you write. Just keep them healthy. Hold off on too many tuna treats or beachside crunchies.

Tip #3: Just focus on one goal per day. One bitesize writing goal. Write the next sentence in your picture book. Write the next paragraph in your middle grade novel. You get the picture. If you’re crunched for time like my writing buddy is, you’ll accomplish more on your project if you just focus on getting one writing task done each day.

 

Responses

  1. Welcome back, Nancy! I was missing your posts. I’ll be praying for your work as you head toward a big deadline.
    Happy New Year!
    Kelly

    • Thanks Kelly! Praying for you too!!!

  2. Great advice for the “Mew” Year! Thanks for all your helpful posts and best wishes on your present writing project!
    Kathy

  3. Hope all is going well with your deadline. For a cat, Sandman is a pretty good wing man!

    • Thanks, Pat! Hope 2017 is your best writing year yet!

  4. Happy New Year!

  5. Dear Sandman,
    Thanks for the update. Please wish my friend much success as she works towards her writing deadline.
    Oh, and your writing tips for 2017 are great and much appreciated!

    • Thanks, Trine! What purrfectly kind words!

  6. Good advice Sandman!


Leave a Reply

Categories

