Posted by: nancyisanders | February 7, 2017

The Writer’s Pyramid

Yes 1 Front Cover.jpg

Last week, one of my blog followers posted a comment asking how social media fits into the Writer’s Pyramid. Thanks, Kelly, for your great question!

The Writer’s what?! you might ask.

The Writer’s Pyramid. It’s a time-management model that I describe in my how-to book for children’s writers, Yes! You Can Learn How to Write Children’s Books, Get Them Published, and Build a Successful Writing Career. (See Chapter 6.) It’s a model I use myself and have used for years and years in my career.

First of all, Kelly, I’m so jazzed you are reading my book! I hope hope hope that you find some real gems that will help you jumpstart your career to the next level of your dreams in the year ahead.

Secondly, I want to encourage you and everyone else who reads this that the Writer’s Pyramid is a MODEL. Please feel free to tweak it to suit your own schedule and personal writing needs.

In fact, I want to share what Mary Kay Carson told me recently in an e-mail. (Mary Kay didn’t even know you asked me this question!) Mary Kay is my critique buddy and also fellow Chicago Review Press author. (Check out her website and be sure to buy her newest AWESOME book, Mission to Pluto.)

“I use your pyramid all the time and have for YEARS now. Every month on my calendar I draw it and have adopted pen colors even for each of the divisions which I use to schedule in stuff–green for make money work; red for love/heart work; and blue for promo/exposure stuff which usually includes school visits, book fairs, blog posts, etc. Funny b/c it’s been so long that I’ve done it that way that I forgot it’s supposed to be PUBLISH not PROMO. Just reread that chapter.” -Mary Kay Carson, author of Mission to Pluto

I just love how Mary Kay uses the third part of the Writer’s Pyramid for promotional activities which includes posting in social media. (Thanks for sharing, Mary Kay!)

For me right now at this point of my career, I save social media for working on AFTER I’m finished on my Writer’s Pyramid accomplishments for the day or week.

So there you have it. It’s really a matter of personal preference and how you want to work social media into your writing day. Do you want to save it for AFTER you finish up your writing commitments that you’ve plugged into your Writer’s Pyramid. Or do  you want to make it part of the Writer’s Pyramid itself? The point is to do what works for you to make your career happen how you want it to.

I hope this helps!

And oh…ha ha ha! I gotta quote Mary Kay again because when she gave me permission to quote the e-mail she sent me out of the blue last week about how she uses my Writer’s Pyramid, she said to be sure to tell you, “Buy Nancy’s book!”

(Aren’t critique buddies the best?)


Responses

  1. Well, this blog post told me I need to reread your book. It’s been a while and I just now pulled it off the shelf. Thanks.

  2. Hope you find some helpful refreshers, Darlene!

  3. Thanks, Nancy! Yes! This definitely helped answer my question. I appreciate the practical help and advice to customize for my specific needs and situation. Wouldn’t it be fun to see some different ways people are using your Writer’s Pyramid…maybe a future post. 😀
    I would like to say to everyone…for sure BUY THE BOOK! It is on my desk with my Children’s Writer’s Market and my Christian Writer’s Market…
    And I can also agree with you…Critique Buddies are the Best! I couldn’t manage without mine…
    Thanks again!

  4. I’ve got to pull your book off my shelf and re-read it and put it into practice, too. 🙂 Loved it when I read it and got off track a bit, now it’s time to get back on the rails and be productive. Thanks, Nancy 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

